

NOMINATIONS & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Nominations & Governance Committee will be held on Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 4:30. The meeting will be held remotely.

AGENDA

24.08	Welcome and Apologies		D Newall
24.09	Declarations of Interest		D Newall
24.10	Draft Minute – 25 January 2024	Р	D Newall
24.11	Action Grid	Р	G Murray
24.12	Recruitment 2024 - Chair Recruitment - Board Recruitment	Р	G Murray
24.13	Any Other Business		D Newall

Date of next meeting: TBC



NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Date of Meeting 22 May 2024

Paper Title Board and Committee Membership

Agenda Item

Responsible Officer | Chair

Status Disclosable

Action For Approval

1 REPORT PURPOSE

This paper updates on the selection of new Board members. It asks Nominations Committee to approve the membership, including chairs, of Board committees for session 2024/25. It also seeks approval for the calendar of Board and committee dates for session 2024/25.

2 RECOMMENDATION

The Board is asked to approve:

- the appointment of Fergus Brown as chair of Organisational Development Committee;
- the appointment of Margaret Swiderska as chair of Finance & Resources Committee;
- the membership of committees for session 2024/25, as set out in Section 4.
- the calendar of dates, as set out on Section 5.

3 NEW BOARD MEMBERS

Several election and interview processes have been taking place in recent weeks, leading to the selection of new Board members:

3.1 Martina Tuskova has been elected President of the Glasgow Clyde College Student Association for a second year. Three new vice-presidents have also been elected: Syed Mutba, Mursal Noori and Yolanda Tracey. In Session 2024/25, Martina will therefore continue to be a member of the Board, and she will be joined by one of the vice-presidents, still to be decided.



- 3.2 Morven Gourlay has been elected Board member by the College's lecturing staff, succeeding Paula Dixon. Morven will be a member of the Board for four years, commencing 1 June 2024, and will be present at the Board meeting on 12 June.
- 3.3 For the first time, the College Board will have trade-union nominated members. Lindsay Devanney, a member of lecturing staff, has been duly elected by EIS members. Anna Magiera, a member of support staff, has been duly elected by UNISON members. Lindsay and Anna will each serve on the Board for four years, commencing 1 June 2024. They will both be present at the Board meeting on 12 June.
- 3.4 On 8 May, interviews were held for two lay positions on the Board, succeeding Sandra Heidinger and David Watt. The interview panel comprised Sandra, Fergus Brown, Lindsey Paterson and Gordon Hunt of the Colleges Development Network (independent member). The panel has recommended two appointments to the Glasgow Colleges' Regional Board, which is due to consider them on 10 June. Subject to GCRB approval, it is hoped the two new members will be present at the Board Development Day on 4 September.
- 3.5 On 9 May, GCRB held interviews for the position of Chair of the Board, succeeding David Newall. GCRB will make a decision on this appointment at its meeting on 10 June.

4 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The Chair has been having discussions with Board members on who should chair OD and F&R Committees in 2024/25, and has also discussed committee membership with new Board members. As a result of the above, the Committee is asked to approve:

- the appointment of Fergus Brown as chair of Organisational Development Committee;
- the appointment of Margaret Swiderska as chair of Finance & Resources Committee;
- the following composition of the Board's committees for session 2024/25:



Audit Committee

Lindsey Paterson (chair)
Rena McAdam
James Olatoke (co-opted member)
Michael Payne
Stuart Porteous
Student vice-president (tbc)

Finance & Resources Committee

Margaret Swiderska (chair) Anna Magiera Kathleen Sweeney Martina Tuskova Jon Vincent Vacant (lay member, tbc)

Learning & Teaching Committee

Maureen McKenna (chair)
Morven Gourlay
Runa McNamara
Alan O'Donnell
Jon Vincent
Student vice-president (tbc)

Organisational Development Committee

Fergus Brown (chair)
Lindsay Devanney
Ros Micklem
Martina Tuskova
Jon Vincent
Vacant (lay member, tbc)

Nominations & Governance Committee

Board Chair, tbc (chair) Fergus Brown Rena McAdam Lindsey Paterson

Remuneration Committee

Fergus Brown
Maureen McKenna
Lindsey Paterson
Margaret Swiderska
Board chair, tbc



In addition, the Committee is asked to note that the interview panel on 8 May identified a candidate whom it felt could make a valuable contribution as a coopted member of OD Committee. Further discussion will take place with the candidate, and a recommendation may then be brought to the Committee.

5 CALENDAR OF DATES FOR BOARD AND COMMITTEES in SESSION 2024/25

The following dates are proposed for Board and Committee meetings, all Wednesdays at 4.30pm unless otherwise stated. Board meetings will take place at The Space, Langside. Committee meetings are by videoconference, except that one meeting of each committee, as shown, is on-campus.

2024	25
------	----

2024/25 4 September	Board Development Day. To be held Wales Hospice, Bellahouston Park, o	
18 September 25 September 2 October 9 October	Organisational Development Audit Finance & Resources BOARD	Langside Boardroom
13 November 20 November 27 November 11 December	Learning & Teaching Audit Finance & Resources BOARD	Langside Boardroom
29 January 5 February 5 March 12 March 19 March	Organisational Development Learning & Teaching Audit Finance & Resources BOARD	Langside Boardroom
7 May 14 May 21 May 28 May 4 June 11 June	Organisational Development Nominations & Governance Learning & Teaching Audit Finance & Resources BOARD	Langside Boardroom

DN, 22.5.24

of